Om Gum Ganapatayei Namaha

January 6, 2010

“Om and salutations to the remover of obstacles for which Gum is the seed”

My friend and peer whom is somewhat of a nomad has decided to embark upon a 40 day mantra quest!  I have adequately learned Om Apadamapa Hataram Dataram Sarva Sampadam Loka Bhi Ramam Sri Ramam Bhyuo Bhyuo Namamyaham.  It is not perfected, so I intend on listening and practicing everyday, especially with the intention to use while needling patients.  I love the flow and rhythm of this freight train mantra.  It resonates in my thoracic space and I get lost in it.  I often mess up the words and when I realize I’m not doing it right, I get flustered and lose the effect.  I think this is a lesson in itself.

Since my friend has offered to chant with me and keep a journal, we have chosen a mantra that we feel will benefit both of us.  I welcome the company along the journey and am secretly thankful that our 40 days will be driven by a less complicated shorter mantra.  Neither of us have malas available and I think my friend is put off by having to go into town to buy one.  He is not one to have superfolous items hanging around.  He once told me that people believe they need to buy more things than they really do – like trash bags for example.  Why buy trash bags when you can use the plastic bags that your groceries are brought home in?  So – my thoughts,  is perhaps he can collect 108 stones from his yard and place them in a bowl – moving them out with each mantra?  I haven’t gotten into a flow with beads ever, so perhaps this would be cumbersome.  I am one to follow directions, so last night I pulled out bead boxes and found my broken mala.  I have 93 beads that could be strung up with a little engenuity.

I will spend today thinking about my life and what I would like to see change.  Maybe studying up on Ganesha, the avatar connected to this mantra.  It’s cold today and I am not going into work, so Isabel (age 11mo) and I are hanging out, watching Seseme Street together.  It would be nice to have a mala by the end of the day and spend an hour doing yoga.  There is always boxes to unpack, clothes to wash and sort, and Mammy (87 years old) to visit.  Curry sounds like a nice meal to greet my family with this evening.  Eli (age 10), thankfully, has decided that curry and potatoes with chicken sounds like a delicious meal!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

